LSW National Honor Society

Click here to edit subtitle


How do I become a member of NHS?
  • In order to become a member of LSW's National Honor Society one must be a member of the Senior class and meet the four pillars of Service, Leadership, Scholarship, and Character.
  • After completing the first semester of your Junior year a report will be run calculating your GPA. Students who have a minimum average weighted GPA of 3.75 or higher meet the Scholarship pillar and will receive a letter in the mail inviting them to apply to be a member of LSW's National Honor Society. Individuals who meet this Scholarship pillar will also be asked to attend an informational meeting with the NHS advisor and fill out an application detailing their leadership, character, and service experience. Applications will be reviewed for membership by the LSW NHS Faculty Council. If selected, induction into the chapter will take place during the spring of your Junior year, with active membership beginning the start of your Senior year. 
  • Starting with the 2017 senior class there will be ONLY 1 NHS induction, which will occur during the spring of 2016. In addition to maintaining a minimum weighted GPA of 3.75 or higher, 2015-2016 juniors who wish to become a member of NHS may start doing a few things now to focus on having a well rounded application. Some of these things include completing community service, becoming more involved in LSW clubs, activities, and sports, and by being responsible, respectful, and considerate of others, the community and school.

Membership Requirements:
  • Active members in National Honor Society are expected to
    • Attend a minimum of 50% of all chapter meetings and events
    • Complete 7.5 service points per term
    • Complete 1 individual service project
    • Maintain a minimum weighted GPA of 3.75 or higher
    • Abide by the LSW NHS code of conduct